on all orders of $79 or more

$5 OFF your purchase of $75 or more!
Use coupon code FRIDAY in checkout.

23 Things They Don't Tell You About Capitalism

, by
23 Things They Don't Tell You About Capitalism by Chang, Ha-Joon, 9781608191666
Note: Supplemental materials are not guaranteed with Rental or Used book purchases.
  • ISBN: 9781608191666 | 1608191664
  • Cover: Hardcover
  • Copyright: 1/4/2011
  • Buy New Book

    In Stock Usually Ships in 24 Hours

Thing 1: There is no such thing as the free market. Thing 5: The washing machine has changed the world more than the Internet. Thing 13: Making rich people richer doesn't make the rest of us richer. Thing 22: Financial markets need to become less, not more, efficient. If you've wondered, how did we not see the economic collapse coming? Ha-Joon Chang knows the answer: we didn't ask what they didn't tell us about capitalism. This is a lighthearted book with a serious purpose: to question the assumptions behind the dogma and sheer hype that free-market fundamentalists have spun since the Age of Reagan. Chang, author of the international bestsellerBad Samaritans, is one of the world's most respected economists, a voice of sanity--and wit--in the tradition of John Kenneth Galbraith and Joseph Stiglitz.23 Things They Don't Tell You About Capitalismequips readers with an understanding of how global capitalism works--and doesn't. In his final chapter, "How to Rebuild the World," Chang offers a vision of how we can shape capitalism to humane ends, instead of becoming slaves of the market.

You might also enjoy...

Please wait while the item is added to your bag...