FREE SHIPPING

on all orders of $79 or more

$10 OFF your purchase of $150 or more!
Use coupon code MONDAY in checkout.

Blasphemy New and Selected Stories

, by
Blasphemy New and Selected Stories by Alexie, Sherman, 9780802121752
Note: Supplemental materials are not guaranteed with Rental or Used book purchases.
  • ISBN: 9780802121752 | 0802121756
  • Cover: Paperback
  • Copyright: 10/8/2013
  • Rent Book

    (Recommended)

    $11.38
     
    Term
    Due
    Price
  • Buy Used Book

    Usually Ships in 3-5 Business Days

    $8.33
  • Buy New Book

    In Stock Usually Ships in 24 Hours

    $12.43
  • eBook

    Available Instantly

    Online: 365 Days

    Downloadable: Lifetime Access

    $20.39
"Alexie once again reasserts himself as one the most compelling contemporary practitioners of the short story. In Blasphemy, the author demonstrates his talent on nearly every page. . . . Will appeal to fans of Junot Diaz, George Saunders, and readers new to Alexie will find this enriching collection to be the perfect introduction to a formidable literary voice. . . . [Alexie] illuminates the lives of his characters in unique, surprising, and, ultimately, hopeful ways."—Boston Globe

"Told in [Alexie's] irreverent, unforgettable voice . . . You'll feel you've been transported inside the soul of a deeply wounded people. But they are a people too comfortable in their brown skins to allow those wounds to break them. . . . With irony and sardonic wit, the Native men and women in Alexie's imagination find a way forward, and they endure. . . . [A] great triumph."—Los Angeles Times

Sherman Alexie’s stature as a writer of stories, poetry, and novels has soared over the course of his twenty-book, twenty-year career. His wide-ranging, acclaimed fiction throughout the last two decades—from The Lone Ranger and Tonto Fistfight in Heaven to his most recent PEN/Faulkner Award–winning War Dances—have established him as a star in contemporary American literature.

A bold and irreverent observer of life among Native Americans in the Pacific Northwest, the daring, versatile, funny, and outrageous Alexie showcases his many talents in Blasphemy, where he unites fifteen beloved classics with sixteen new stories in one sweeping anthology for devoted fans and first-time readers. Included here are some of his most esteemed tales, including “What You Pawn I Will Redeem,” in which a homeless Indian man quests to win back a family heirloom; “This Is What It Means to Say Phoenix, Arizona,” a road-trip morality tale; “The Toughest Indian in the World,” about a night shared between a writer and a hitchhiker; and his most recent, “War Dances,” about a man grappling with sudden hearing loss in the wake of his father’s death. Alexie’s new stories are fresh and quintessential, about donkey basketball leagues, lethal wind turbines, a twenty-four-hour Asian manicure salon, good and bad marriages, and all species of warriors in America today.

An indispensable Alexie collection, Blasphemy reminds us, on every thrilling page, why Alexie is one of our greatest contemporary writers and a true master of the short story.

You might also enjoy...



Please wait while the item is added to your bag...