FREE SHIPPING

on all orders of $79 or more

$3 OFF your purchase of $60 or more!
Use coupon code SATURDAY in checkout.

The Boys in the Boat Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics

, by
The Boys in the Boat Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics by Brown, Daniel James, 9780143125471
Note: Supplemental materials are not guaranteed with Rental or Used book purchases.
  • ISBN: 9780143125471 | 0143125478
  • Cover: Paperback
  • Copyright: 5/27/2014
  • Rent Book

    (Recommended)

    $11.38
     
    Term
    Due
    Price
  • Buy Used Book

    Usually Ships in 3-5 Business Days

    $8.33
  • Buy New Book

    In Stock Usually Ships in 24 Hours

    $12.43
The #1 New York Times–bestselling story about American Olympic triumph in Nazi Germany

For readers of Unbroken, out of the depths of the Depression comes an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most desperate of times—the improbable, intimate account of how nine working-class boys from the American West showed the world at the 1936 Olympics in Berlin what true grit really meant.

It was an unlikely quest from the start. With a team composed of the sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the University of Washington’s eight-oar crew team was never expected to defeat the elite teams of the East Coast and Great Britain, yet they did, going on to shock the world by defeating the German team rowing for Adolf Hitler. The emotional heart of the tale lies with Joe Rantz, a teenager without family or prospects, who rows not only to regain his shattered self-regard but also to find a real place for himself in the world. Drawing on the boys’ own journals and vivid memories of a once-in-a-lifetime shared dream, Brown has created an unforgettable portrait of an era, a celebration of a remarkable achievement, and a chronicle of one extraordinary young man’s personal quest.

You might also enjoy...



Please wait while the item is added to your bag...