FREE SHIPPING

on all orders of $79 or more

10% OFF your purchase of $125 or more!
Use coupon code WEDNESDAY in checkout.

Cry Father

, by
Cry Father by Whitmer, Benjamin, 9781476734361
Note: Supplemental materials are not guaranteed with Rental or Used book purchases.
  • ISBN: 9781476734361 | 1476734364
  • Cover: Paperback
  • Copyright: 5/12/2015
  • Rent Book

    (Recommended)

    $14.83
     
    Term
    Due
    Price
  • Buy New Book

    Usually Ships in 3-5 Business Days

    $13.32
The second novel from the critically acclaimed writer of Pike, which was nominated for France’s prestigious Grand Prix de Littérature Policière crime fiction award and “easily rivals Larry Brown’s most renowned novels” (Spinetingler Magazine). In the tradition of Cormac McCarthy and Larry Brown comes a haunting story about men, their fathers, their sons, and the legacy of violence.

For Patterson Wells, disaster is the norm. Working alongside dangerous, desperate, itinerant men as a tree clearer in disaster zones, he's still dealing with the loss of his young son. Writing letters to the boy offers some solace. The bottle gives more.

Upon a return trip to Colorado, Patterson stops to go fishing with an old acquaintance, only to find him in a meth-induced delirium and keeping a woman tied up in the bathtub. In the ensuing chain of events, which will test not only his future but his past, Patterson tries to do the right thing. Still, in the lives of those he knows, violence and justice have made of each other strange, intoxicating bedfellows.

Hailed as “the next great American writer” (Frank Bill, author of Crimes in Southern Indiana), Benjamin Whitmer has crafted a literary triumph that is by turns harrowing, darkly comic, and wise.

You might also enjoy...



Please wait while the item is added to your bag...