FREE SHIPPING

on all orders of $79 or more

7% OFF your purchase of $75 or more!
Use coupon code TUESDAY in checkout.

Cut Me Loose Sin and Salvation After My Ultra-Orthodox Girlhood

, by
Cut Me Loose Sin and Salvation After My Ultra-Orthodox Girlhood by Vincent, Leah, 9780143127413
Note: Supplemental materials are not guaranteed with Rental or Used book purchases.
  • ISBN: 9780143127413 | 0143127411
  • Cover: Paperback
  • Copyright: 5/12/2015
  • Rent Book

    (Recommended)

    $14.83
     
    Term
    Due
    Price
  • Buy New Book

    Usually Ships in 3-5 Business Days

    $13.32
An electrifying memoir about a young woman’s self-destructive spiral after being cast out by her ultra-Orthodox Jewish family

In the vein of Prozac Nation and Girl, Interrupted, this brutally honest memoir tells the story of one woman’s struggle to define herself as an individual. Leah Vincent was born into the Yeshivish community, an ultra-Orthodox Jewish sect that shuns the modern world. When, at sixteen, Leah was caught exchanging letters with a boy—breaking a religious ban on contact between the sexes—her family cut all ties. Sent to live on her own in New York City, adrift and unprepared for the freedoms of secular life, Leah’s desperate loneliness coupled with her stubborn loyalty to the dogma of her past pulled her into a vicious cycle of promiscuity and self-harm. It took a shocking state of despair to empower her to transform a life of tragedy into a tale of unexpected triumph, one that illuminates both the oppressive world of religious fundamentalism and the broader issues facing young women from all backgrounds as they grapple with sexuality and identity.

You might also enjoy...



Please wait while the item is added to your bag...