FREE SHIPPING

on all orders of $79 or more

10% OFF your purchase of $125 or more!
Use coupon code WEDNESDAY in checkout.

The God Effect Quantum Entanglement, Science's Strangest Phenomenon

, by
The God Effect Quantum Entanglement, Science's Strangest Phenomenon by Clegg, Brian, 9780312555306
Note: Supplemental materials are not guaranteed with Rental or Used book purchases.
  • ISBN: 9780312555306 | 031255530X
  • Cover: Paperback
  • Copyright: 7/21/2009
  • Buy New Book

    Usually Ships in 3-5 Business Days

    $14.98
The phenomenon that Einstein thought too spooky and strange to be true What is entanglement? It's a connection between quantum particles, the building blocks of the universe. Once two particles are entangled, a change to one of them is reflected--- instantly--- in the other, be they in the same lab or light-years apart. So counterintuitive is this phenomenon and its implications that Einstein himself called it "spooky" and thought that it would lead to the downfall of quantum theory. Yet scientists have since discovered that quantum entanglement, the "God Effect," was one of Einstein's few---and perhaps one of his greatest---mistakes. What does it mean ? The possibilities offered by a fuller understanding of the nature of entanglement read like something out of science fiction: communications devices that could span the stars, codes that cannot be broken, computers that dwarf today's machines in speed and power, teleportation, and more. In The God Effect , veteran science writer Brian Clegg has written an exceptionally readable and fascinating (and equation-free) account of entanglement, its history, and its application. Fans of Brian Greene and Amir Aczel and those interested in the marvelous possibilities coming down the quantum road will find much to marvel, illuminate, and delight. Brian Clegg is the author of A Brief History of Infinity , The First Scientist : A Life of Roger Bacon , and Light Years : The Extraordinary Story of Mankind's Fascination with Light . He holds a physics degree from Cambridge and has written regular columns, features, and reviews for numerous magazines. His books have been translated into ten languages. He lives in Wiltshire, England, with his wife and two children. The God Effect , by veteran science writer Brian Clegg, is an accessible and equation-free account of entanglement, its history, and its application. In scientific terms, entanglement is a connection between quantum particles, the building blocks of the universe. Once two particles are entangled, a change to one of them is instantly reflected in the other, be they in the same lab or light-years apart. So counterintuitive is this phenomenon and its implications that Einstein himself called it "spooky" and thought that it would lead to the downfall of quantum theory. Yet scientists have since discovered that quantum entanglement, the "God Effect," was one of Einstein's few'”and perhaps one of his greatest'”mistakes. The possibilities offered by a fuller understanding of the nature of entanglement read like something out of science fiction: communications devices that could span the stars, codes that cannot be broken, computers that dwarf today's machines in speed and power, teleportation, and more. "A masterful account of the phenomenon Einstein thought so crazy it could not possibly be true. (Only it is!)"'” Dr. Marcus Chown, author of The Universe Next Door "A marvelously clear and engaging account of the people and ideas involved in trying to understand the deepest mysteries of the quantum world and convert them into a useful technology."'” Gregory Chaitin, author of Meta Math! The Quest for Omega "Clegg does an excellent job of explaining [quantum entanglement] in nontechnical terms; he details the many experiments that have consistently suggested that entanglement is real. The implications for future technological advances are huge, and Clegg is at his finest as he embeds potential advances in a broad historical context. Data could be encrypted in unbreakable codes; computers could become thousands of times more powerful than today; objects, and maybe even living organisms, could be instantaneously transported . . . [T]hese possibilities could change our notion of reality."'” Publishers Weekly

You might also enjoy...



Please wait while the item is added to your bag...