on all orders of $59 or more

7% OFF your purchase of $75 or more!
Use coupon code TUESDAY in checkout.

Principles of Music

, by
Principles of Music by Lambert, Philip, 9780199975563
Note: Supplemental materials are not guaranteed with Rental or Used book purchases.
  • ISBN: 9780199975563 | 0199975566
  • Cover: Paperback
  • Copyright: 9/6/2013
  • Sorry, this item is currently not available.
Ideal for students with no prior experience with musical notation and music theory, Principles of Music presents a series of lessons that proceeds step by step through music fundamentals. Taking a keyboard-oriented approach, it focuses on the basics-musical notation of rhythm and pitch, major and minor scales, key signatures, intervals, triads, and seventh chords-providing the necessary background for more advanced study in music theory. In addition to lessons in pitch notation and tonal materials, the book also covers the basics of rhythm and meter through separate lessons and performance exercises that reinforce rhythm reading. While rooted in a repertory of Western art music-with excerpts from great works by composers ranging from Bach to Bernstein-the text also encourages students to explore other works, and other musical traditions, with lists of suggested further listening at the end of each lesson.

Distinctive Features
* "HELP" boxes provide information that is essential to understanding and completing the written exercises that appear at the end of each lesson
* "CREATE!" sections present suggestions for exploring central concepts in imaginative ways, including improvisation and model composition
* Marginal icons direct students to streaming audio recordings on the book's website (, underscoring how listening helps them understand musical concepts

Instructors: Help your students practice and master basic music theory skills with Oxford's online Music Theory Skill Builder. Specially priced packages are available for this text. Contact your Oxford University Press representative for more information.

You might also enjoy...

Please wait while the item is added to your bag...