on all orders of $59 or more

FREE SHIPPING on all orders of $59 or more! (Normally $79 minimum.)

On Sal Mal Lane A Novel

, by
On Sal Mal Lane A Novel by Freeman, Ru, 9781555976767
Note: Supplemental materials are not guaranteed with Rental or Used book purchases.
  • ISBN: 9781555976767 | 155597676X
  • Cover: Paperback
  • Copyright: 5/20/2014
  • Rent Book


  • Buy Used Book

    Usually Ships in 3-5 Business Days

  • Buy New Book

    Usually Ships in 3-5 Business Days


In the tradition of In the Time of the Butterflies and The Kite Runner, a tender, evocative novel about the years leading up to the Sri Lankan civil war

* A Library Journal Best Indie Fiction of 2013 * A Largehearted Boy Best Book of the Year *

On the day the Herath family moves in, Sal Mal Lane is still a quiet street, disturbed only by the cries of the children whose triumphs and tragedies sustain the families that live there. As the neighbors adapt to the newcomers in different ways, the children fill their days with cricket matches, romantic crushes, and small rivalries. But the tremors of civil war are mounting, and the conflict threatens to engulf them all.
In a heartrending novel poised between the past and the future, the innocence of the children—a beloved sister and her overprotective siblings, a rejected son and his twin sisters, two very different brothers—contrasts sharply with the petty prejudices of the adults charged with their care. In Ru Freeman's masterful hands, On Sal Mal Lane, a story of what was lost to a country and her people, becomes a resounding cry for reconciliation.

You might also enjoy...

Please wait while the item is added to your bag...