A Celebration of John F. Nash Jr.

, by ; ; ;
A Celebration of John F. Nash Jr. by Kuhn, Harold W.; Nirenberg, Louis; Sarnak, Peter; Weisfeld, Morris, 9780822317821
Note: Supplemental materials are not guaranteed with Rental or Used book purchases.
  • ISBN: 9780822317821 | 0822317826
  • Cover: Hardcover
  • Copyright: 7/1/1996

  • Rent


    *This item is part of an exclusive publisher rental program and requires an additional convenience fee. This fee will be reflected in the shopping cart.
  • Buy Used

    Usually Ships in 2-4 Business Days

  • Buy New

    Usually Ships in 7-10 Business Days


This collection celebrates the pathbreaking work in game theory and mathematics of John F. Nash Jr., winner of the 1994 Nobel Prize in Economics. Nashrs"s analysis of equilibria in the theory of non-cooperative games has had a major impact on modern enconomic theory. This book, also published as volume 81 of theDuke Mathematical Journal,includes an important, but previously unpublished paper by Nash; the proceedings of the Nobel seminar held in Stockholm on December 8, 1994 in his honor; and papers by distinguished mathematicians and economists written in response to and in honor of Nashrs"s pioneering contributions to those fields. In 1950, when he was 22 years old, Nash presented his key idea-the Nash equilibrium-in the Ph.D. thesis he submitted to the Mathematics Department at Princeton University. In that paper, he defined a new concept of equilibrium and used methods from topology to prove the existence of an equilibrium point forn-person, finite, non-cooperative games, that its, for games in which the number of possible strategies are limited, no communication is allowed between the players, andnrepresents the number of players. The Nash equilibrium point is reached when none of the players can improve their position by changing strategies. By taking into account situations involving more than two players, specifically the generaln-player game, Nash built significantly on the previous work of John Von Neumann and Oskar Morgenstern.Contributors.Abbas Bahri, Eric A. Carlen, Ennio De Giorgi, Charles Fefferman, Srihari Govidan, John C. Harsanyi, H. Hoffer, Carlos E. Kenig, S. Klainerman, Harold F. Kuhn, Michael Loss, William F. Lucas, M. Machedon, Roger B. Myerson, Raghavan Narasimhan, John F. Nash Jr., Louis Nirenberg, Jill Pipher, Zeeacute;v Rudnick, Peter Sarnak, Michael Shub, Steve Smale, Robert Wilson, K. Wysocki, E. Zehnder

You might also enjoy...

Loading Icon

Please wait while the item is added to your bag...
Continue Shopping Button
Checkout Button
Loading Icon
Continue Shopping Button