FREE SHIPPING

on all orders of $59 or more

$8 OFF your purchase of $100 or more!
Use coupon code WEDNESDAY in checkout.

Classics Magpie A Cornucopia of Classical Curiosities, Fascinating Facts and Astonishing Anecdotes from the Ancient World

, by
Classics Magpie A Cornucopia of Classical Curiosities, Fascinating Facts and Astonishing Anecdotes from the Ancient World by Hood, Jane, 9781848317307
Note: Supplemental materials are not guaranteed with Rental or Used book purchases.
  • ISBN: 9781848317307 | 1848317301
  • Cover: Hardcover
  • Copyright: 12/23/2014
  • Buy New Book

    Usually Ships in 3-5 Business Days

    $21.36
  • eBook

    Available Instantly

    Online: 365 Days

    Downloadable: Lifetime Access

    $10.79

Perfect for fans of Mary Beard or films like The Eagle or 300, in this new miscellany Oxford classicist Jane Hood delves into the history, culture, literature, mythology, and philosophy of ancient Greece, Rome, and Egypt, unearthing unexpected gems from a lost world.

How much can you learn about archaeology from an oil lamp? What was a Roman dinner party like? Which tragedian was killed when a tortoise fell on his head?

From ancient cosmetics to chariot-racing hooligans, from the deciphering of ancient languages to the what the Romans knew about concrete, this is the essential miscellany for all curious minds, whether or not you learned Classics in high school!

Jane Hood was, before recent retirement, a fellow in ancient philosophy at the University of Oxford specializing in Aristotle and ancient medicine. She has held research fellowships in philosophy in Paris and in ancient medicine with the Wellcome Institute in London.

You might also enjoy...



Please wait while the item is added to your bag...