The Better Liar

, by
The Better Liar by Jones, Tanen, 9781984821225
Note: Supplemental materials are not guaranteed with Rental or Used book purchases.
  • ISBN: 9781984821225 | 1984821229
  • Cover: Hardcover
  • Copyright: 1/14/2020

  • Rent

    (Recommended)

    $22.25
    Rent Book Button
     
    Term
    Due
    Price
    *This item is part of an exclusive publisher rental program and requires an additional convenience fee. This fee will be reflected in the shopping cart.
  • Buy New

    Usually Ships in 3-5 Business Days

    $25.13
    Buy New Button
“Smart, sinister, and utterly engrossing—this debut delivers.”—Joshilyn Jackson, New York Times bestselling author of Never Have I Ever

When a woman conceals her sister’s death to claim their joint inheritance, her deception exposes a web of dangerous secrets in this addictive new thriller for fans of Megan Abbott, Gillian Flynn, and Paula Hawkins.
 

NAMED ONE OF THE MOST ANTICIPATED BOOKS OF 2020 BY Entertainment Weekly New York Post Lit Hub Crime Reads • E! News • BookRiot • PopSugar Hello GIggles

“Like most of the dead, I want to be remembered.”

Robin Voigt is dead. If Leslie had arrived at her sister’s cramped Las Vegas apartment just hours earlier, this would have been their first reunion in a decade. In the years since Robin ran away from home as a teenager, Leslie has stayed in New Mexico, taking care of their dying father even as she began building a family of her own. But when their father passed away, Leslie received a rude awakening: She and Robin would receive the inheritance he left them together—or not at all. Now her half of the money may be beyond her grasp. And unbeknownst to anyone, even her husband, Leslie needs it desperately.

When she meets a charismatic young woman who bears an uncanny resemblance to Robin—and has every reason to leave her past behind—the two make a reckless bargain: Mary will impersonate Robin for a week in exchange for Robin’s half of the cash. But neither realizes how high the stakes will become when Mary takes a dead woman’s name. Even as Mary begins to suspect Leslie is hiding something, and Leslie realizes the stranger living in her house, babysitting her newborn son, and charming her husband has secrets of her own, Robin’s wild, troubled legacy threatens to eclipse them both.

An electric, twisted portrait of sisterhood and the ties that bind, The Better Liar is a stunning debut with a heart-stopping, twist-after-twist finale that will beg the question: How far would you go to get what’s yours?

Praise for The Better Liar

“Jones’ sensational debut has the bones of a thriller but reads like literary fiction: lean, shrewd, and gratifyingly real.”Entertainment Weekly

“Jones’s debut novel is clever, absorbing, and full of red herrings. . . . A stunning twist ending will leave readers waiting to see what Jones will give them next.”Booklist (starred review)

You might also enjoy...

Loading Icon

Please wait while the item is added to your bag...
Continue Shopping Button
Checkout Button
Loading Icon
Continue Shopping Button