Mango and Peppercorns A Memoir of Food, an Unlikely Family, and the American Dream

, by ; ; ; ;
Mango and Peppercorns A Memoir of Food, an Unlikely Family, and the American Dream by Nguyen, Tung; Manning, Katherine; Nguyen, Lyn; Ung, Elisa; Bernstein, Michelle, 9781797202242
Note: Supplemental materials are not guaranteed with Rental or Used book purchases.
  • ISBN: 9781797202242 | 1797202243
  • Cover: Hardcover
  • Copyright: 3/16/2021

  • Rent

    (Recommended)

    $19.27
     
    Term
    Due
    Price
    *This item is part of an exclusive publisher rental program and requires an additional convenience fee. This fee will be reflected in the shopping cart.
  • Buy Used

    Usually Ships in 2-4 Business Days

    $18.34
  • Buy New

    In Stock Usually Ships in 24-48 Hours

    $23.96
  • eBook

    eTextBook from VitalSource Icon

    Available Instantly

    Online: 1825 Days

    Downloadable: Lifetime Access

    $17.99

A powerful memoir of resilience, friendship, family, and food from the acclaimed chefs behind the award-winning Hy Vong Vietnamese restaurant in Miami.

IACP AWARD WINNER: Literary or Historical Food Writing

Through powerful narrative, archival imagery, and 20 Vietnamese recipes that mirror their story, Mango & Peppercorns is a unique contribution to culinary literature.

In 1975, after narrowly escaping the fall of Saigon, pregnant refugee and gifted cook Tung Nguyen ended up in the Miami home of Kathy Manning, a graduate student and waitress who was taking in displaced Vietnamese refugees. This serendipitous meeting evolved into a decades-long partnership, one that eventually turned strangers into family and a tiny, no-frills eatery into one of the most lauded restaurants in the country.

Tung's fierce practicality often clashed with Kathy's free-spirited nature, but over time, they found a harmony in their contrasts—a harmony embodied in the restaurant's signature mango and peppercorns sauce.

IMPORTANT, UNIVERSAL STORY: An inspiring memoir peppered with recipes, it is a riveting read that will appeal to fans of Roy Choi, Ed Lee, Ruth Reichl, and Kwame Onwuachi.

TIMELY TOPIC: This real-life American dream is a welcome reminder of our country's longstanding tradition of welcoming refugees and immigrants. This book adds a touchpoint to that larger conversation, resonating beyond the bookshelf.

INVENTIVE COOKBOOK: This book is taking genre-bending a step further, focusing on the story first and foremost with 20 complementary recipes.

Perfect for: 
  • Fans of culinary nonfiction
  • Fans of Ruth Reichl, Roy Choi, Kwame Onwuachi, and Anya Von Bremzen
  • Home cooks who are interested in Asian food and cooking

You might also enjoy...

Loading Icon

Please wait while the item is added to your bag...
Continue Shopping Button
Checkout Button
Loading Icon
Continue Shopping Button