on all orders of $59 or more

7% OFF your purchase of $75 or more!
Use coupon code TUESDAY in checkout.

The Masterwork in Music: Volume II, 1926

, by ; ; ; ;
The Masterwork in Music: Volume II, 1926 by Schenker, Heinrich; Drabkin, William; Bent, Ian; Rothgeb, John; Siegel, Hedi, 9780486780030
Note: Supplemental materials are not guaranteed with Rental or Used book purchases.
  • ISBN: 9780486780030 | 0486780031
  • Cover: Paperback
  • Copyright: 11/19/2014
  • Buy New Book

    Usually Ships in 3-5 Business Days

  • eBook

    Available Instantly

    Online: 365 Days

    Downloadable: Lifetime Access

The three volumes of The Masterwork in Music present complete English translations of major works by Austrian music theorist Heinrich Schenker, one of the twentieth century's leading figures in the field. First published in German between 1925 and 1930, these essays represent Schenker's greatest writings in analysis prior to the 1935 definitive formulation of his theory of music in Der freie Satz (Free Composition). This new publication of the long-awaited English translation, which first appeared in the distinguished Cambridge University Press edition, provides a valuable resource for scholars. Editorial annotations and elucidations by Dr. William Drabkin and his translators offer additional insights.
This volume features a major essay on Mozart's Symphony No. 40 in G minor; studies of Bach keyboard and solo cello pieces; works by Haydn and Reger; theoretical writings on sonata form and fugue; and many examples of Schenkerian theory. Volume One includes analyses of keyboard works by Bach, Scarlatti, Chopin, Beethoven, and Handel and solo violin music by Bach, along with studies of other works. Volume Three's contents include Schenker's celebrated analysis of Beethoven's "Eroica" Symphony and other works.

You might also enjoy...

Please wait while the item is added to your bag...