FREE SHIPPING

on all orders of $59 or more

7% OFF your purchase of $75 or more!
Use coupon code TUESDAY in checkout.

Nurse Kitty's Secret War A novel inspired by the brave nurses and doctors from the first NHS hospital

, by
Nurse Kitty's Secret War A novel inspired by the brave nurses and doctors from the first NHS hospital by Campbell, Maggie, 9781409191773
Note: Supplemental materials are not guaranteed with Rental or Used book purchases.
  • ISBN: 9781409191773 | 140919177X
  • Cover: Paperback
  • Copyright: 8/17/2021
  • Buy New Book

    Not Yet Printed. Place an order and we will ship it as soon as it arrives.

    $14.88

A novel inspired by the brave nurses and doctors from the first NHS hospital, the Trafford General, opened after the end of World War II. An inspiring and romantic read for fans of Call the Midwife and The Nightingale Girls.

It's May 1945 and at 3pm, nurse Kitty Longthorne listens, together with the other surgical staff at South Manchester's Park Hospital, to Winston Churchill's broadcast on the radio. Germany has signed a declaration of complete surrender. The war is over in Europe and that day is to be celebrated as VE Day. The mood in Park Hospital - still full of wounded American soldiers - is jubilant and hopeful, though Kitty is anything but. Her clandestine squeeze and the man she hopes to marry, James Williams has been giving her the cold shoulder for the last week, and she can't work out why. Furthermore, her twin brother, Ned, is still missing in action - his last known whereabouts point to him being in a Japanese prisoner of war camp.

An uplifting, heart-wrenching novel based on the true story of the first ever NHS hospital, for fans of Donna Douglas and Nancy Revell.

You might also enjoy...



Please wait while the item is added to your bag...