FREE SHIPPING

on all orders of $59 or more

$8 OFF your purchase of $100 or more!
Use coupon code WEDNESDAY in checkout.

In the Quick A Novel

, by
In the Quick A Novel by Day, Kate Hope, 9780525511250
Note: Supplemental materials are not guaranteed with Rental or Used book purchases.
  • ISBN: 9780525511250 | 0525511253
  • Cover: Hardcover
  • Copyright: 3/2/2021
  • Buy New Book

    Not Yet Printed. Place an order and we will ship it as soon as it arrives.

    $25.13
A young, ambitious female astronaut’s life is upended by a fiery love affair that threatens the rescue of a lost crew in this brilliantly imagined novel, in the tradition of Station Eleven and The Martian.

“An enthralling, romantic, and powerful testament to human strength and frailty, and the pursuit of possibility.”—Courtney Summers, New York Times bestselling author of Sadie

June is a brilliant but difficult girl with a gift for mechanical invention who leaves home to begin grueling astronaut training at the National Space Program. Younger by two years than her classmates at Peter Reed, the school on campus named for her uncle, she flourishes in her classes but struggles to make friends and find true intellectual peers. Six years later, she has gained a coveted post as an engineer on a space station—and a hard-won sense of belonging—but is haunted by the mystery of Inquiry, a revolutionary spacecraft powered by her beloved late uncle’s fuel cells. The spacecraft went missing when June was twelve years old, and while the rest of the world seems to have forgotten the crew, June alone has evidence that makes her believe they are still alive.

She seeks out James, her uncle’s former protégé, also brilliant, also difficult, who has been trying to discover why Inquiry’s fuel cells failed. James and June forge an intense intellectual bond that becomes an electric attraction. But the love that develops between them as they work to solve the fuel cell’s fatal flaw threatens to destroy everything they’ve worked so hard to create—and any chance of bringing the Inquiry crew home alive.

Both a gripping narrative of one woman’s persistence and a charged love story, In the Quick is an exploration of the strengths and limits of human ability in the face of hardship, and the costs of human ingenuity.

You might also enjoy...



Please wait while the item is added to your bag...