Symphonies Nos. 6 and 7 in Full Score

, by
Symphonies Nos. 6 and 7 in Full Score by Sibelius, Jean, 9780486842219
Note: Supplemental materials are not guaranteed with Rental or Used book purchases.
  • ISBN: 9780486842219 | 0486842215
  • Cover: Paperback
  • Copyright: 5/13/2020

  • Rent


    Rent Book Button
    *This item is part of an exclusive publisher rental program and requires an additional convenience fee. This fee will be reflected in the shopping cart.
  • Buy New

    In Stock Usually Ships in 24-48 Hours

    Buy New Button
The music of composer Jean Sibelius (1865–1957) is often credited with helping Finland form a national identity in its struggle for independence from Russia. Inspired by nature and Nordic mythology, his works include seven symphonies as well as tone poems and choral music.
Symphony No. 6 in D Minor, Op. 104, is a "poem within the framework of a symphony," and Symphony No. 7 in C Major, Op. 105, is a one-movement "symphonic fantasy." Conductor Osma Vänskä, a noted interpreter of the composer's music, observed that "Number Six is autobiographical. An aging man feels his own incapacity. The ideals are there, but he cannot reach them. The Seventh forms a pair with the Sixth, but it is not autobiographical. Number Seven is sacred music." Reprinted from authoritative sources, this edition offers musicians and music lovers a sturdy, single volume of Sibelius's last symphonies.

You might also enjoy...

Loading Icon

Please wait while the item is added to your bag...
Continue Shopping Button
Checkout Button
Loading Icon
Continue Shopping Button